Don Paterson headlining

by St Mungo's Mirrorball


Unfortunately Les Murray has taken ill and can no longer attend our event this Thursday – he has just been released from hospital and has flown home – we wish him the best.  Our new line-up for Thursday 15th October is:                      Sheri Benning, Peter Mackay, Mary Thomson and Don Paterson.

St Mungo’s Mirrorball in partnership with the Scottish Poetry Library are proud to present

Don Paterson was born in Dundee in 1963. His poetry collections include Nil Nil, God’s Gift to Women, Landing Light, Rain and 40 Sonnets.He has also published two books of aphorism, as well as translations of Antonio Machado and Rainer Maria Rilke.

 His poetry has won many awards, including the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and all three Forward Prizes; he is currently the only poet to have won the TS Eliot Prize twice. He was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2009. 

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the English Association and the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and is currently Professor of Poetry at the University of St Andrews. Since 1997 he has been poetry editor at Picador Macmillan, and he also works as a jazz musician and composer. He lives in Edinburgh.

Sheri Benning’s third book of poetry, The Season’s Vagrant Light, was recently published by Carcanet Press. Her two previous collections, published in Canada, are Thin Moon Psalm (Brick Books) and Earth After Rain (Thistledown Press). She grew up on a farm in Saskatchewan and has since travelled widely while studying. 

 Peter Mackay is a poet and broadcaster, originally from the Isle of Lewis, and now living in Edinburgh. His first full collection, ‘Gu Leòr / Galore’ was recently published by Acair; he also has a pamhplet, ‘From another island’ with Clutag Press. He also lectures at St Andrews University, and is a 2015 BBC Next Generation Thinker.

Mary Thomson moved to Scotland in 2005 from Yorkshire, where she worked as a freelance art critic, curator of exhibitions and writer about art and artists.  Alphabetical Order is the fifth in a series of poetry pamphlets she has published since 2006, two of which have been short listed for the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award.