St Mungo's Mirrorball

The Glasgow network of poets and poetry lovers

Month: October, 2015


51VlAyY8DeL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_    sat-200    9781847771513img01     


Five poets will read for us at the next Mirrorball night on 29th October: Jonathan Edwards, Martin Malone, Mark Russell, Anne Stokes and Ann Rawson.

Jonathan Edwards’s first collection, My Family and Other Superheroes (Seren) won the Costa Poetry Award and the Wales Book of the Year People’s Choice Award. It was shortlisted for the Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize. His poems have won prizes in competitions including the Cardiff International Poetry Competition, the Ledbury Festival International Poetry Competition and the Basil Bunting Award, and have appeared in magazines including Poetry Review, Poetry Wales, New Welsh Review and The North. He works as a teacher.

“Joyful and dynamic – a collection that’ll make you laugh and make you think” – Costa Poetry Book Award Judges

Martin Malone

Born in County Durham, Martin Malone now lives in Scotland. He has published two poetry collections: The Waiting Hillside (Templar, 2011) and Cur (Shoestring, 2015). An Honorary Research Fellow in Creative Writing at Aberdeen University, he is currently studying for a Ph.D in poetry at Sheffield University. He edits The Interpreter’s House poetry journal.

Mark Russell has published two pamphlets, Saturday Morning Pictures (Red Ceilings Press, 2015), and Pursued by Well-being (tall-lighthouse, 2013). His poetry has appeared in a variety of publications, including The Rialto, Under the Radar, The Interpreter’s House, Tears in the Fence, The Frogmore Papers, Poetry Salzburg Review, Gutter, Bare Fiction, Molly Bloom, Shadowtrain, Otoliths, and fourfold.

Anne Stokes, who lectures in translation at the University of Stirling, is a translator of literary and academic works and writes about German literature. She will be reading prize winning  recent translations of poetry by Sarah Kirsch

the acclaimed former East German writer who died in 2013. Sarah Kirsch is a poet of rare power and invention,  Elaine Feinstein

Ann Rawson’s First pamphlet: “Chasing Winter Dragons” (2014). Short-listed for the Callum Macdonald Award (2015). She has also been short-listed for the James Kirkup Competition (2012).  

29/10/15, 7pm in the CCA, free to members or £5 on the door for non-members.


Don Paterson headlining


Unfortunately Les Murray has taken ill and can no longer attend our event this Thursday – he has just been released from hospital and has flown home – we wish him the best.  Our new line-up for Thursday 15th October is:                      Sheri Benning, Peter Mackay, Mary Thomson and Don Paterson.

St Mungo’s Mirrorball in partnership with the Scottish Poetry Library are proud to present

Don Paterson was born in Dundee in 1963. His poetry collections include Nil Nil, God’s Gift to Women, Landing Light, Rain and 40 Sonnets.He has also published two books of aphorism, as well as translations of Antonio Machado and Rainer Maria Rilke.

 His poetry has won many awards, including the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and all three Forward Prizes; he is currently the only poet to have won the TS Eliot Prize twice. He was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2009. 

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the English Association and the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and is currently Professor of Poetry at the University of St Andrews. Since 1997 he has been poetry editor at Picador Macmillan, and he also works as a jazz musician and composer. He lives in Edinburgh.

Sheri Benning’s third book of poetry, The Season’s Vagrant Light, was recently published by Carcanet Press. Her two previous collections, published in Canada, are Thin Moon Psalm (Brick Books) and Earth After Rain (Thistledown Press). She grew up on a farm in Saskatchewan and has since travelled widely while studying. 

 Peter Mackay is a poet and broadcaster, originally from the Isle of Lewis, and now living in Edinburgh. His first full collection, ‘Gu Leòr / Galore’ was recently published by Acair; he also has a pamhplet, ‘From another island’ with Clutag Press. He also lectures at St Andrews University, and is a 2015 BBC Next Generation Thinker.

Mary Thomson moved to Scotland in 2005 from Yorkshire, where she worked as a freelance art critic, curator of exhibitions and writer about art and artists.  Alphabetical Order is the fifth in a series of poetry pamphlets she has published since 2006, two of which have been short listed for the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award.