Next Generation Poets

by St Mungo's Mirrorball

Next Generation Poets 2014

Aye Write! Glasgow’s Book Festival and St Mungo’s Mirrorball are delighted to announce this free evening of new poetry presented by The Poetry Book Society. The event is part of a national tour celebrating the newly announced Next Generation Poets 2014 list. This accolade is awarded by The Poetry Book Society just once every ten years to 20 of the country’s most exciting new poets who have published their first volume of poems in the last decade.

The Glasgow leg of the tour features Shetland-based Jen Hadfield, who won the highly regarded TS Eliot Prize in 2008, and Sam Willetts, whose remarkable journey has taken him from heroin addiction and homelessness to the publication of his first volume of poetry to universal acclaim.

The event also includes Don Paterson, from the 1994 Generation. Don is an Aye Write! regular and one of Scotland’s best known poets, and has been awarded both an OBE the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry. The programme is completed by Glaswegian poet, writer and blogger McGuire.

This Next Generation Poets 2014 event will take place in Glasgow’s Mitchell Library, in the Jeffrey Room. Places are free but should be booked in advance by phoning 0141 287 2951 or emailing