May Mirrorballs

t_223_4624                       the_havocs-198x300


Gerrie Fellows & Jacob Polley read at the Mirrorball on Thursday 1st May, 7pm, Cinema room, CCA, Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow. Free.

Gerrie Fellows is the author of three poetry sequences: The Powerlines, The Duntroon Toponymy and most recently, Window for a Small Blue Child, a sequence on infertility treatment which was short-listed for the Scottish Poetry Book of the Year. Her work can be found at Gerrie has taught writing workshops for more than 20 years, many of those with Glasgow University. She was the inaugural Clydebuilt mentor in 2008 and is now enjoying mentoring the 7th group of Clydebuilt mentees. The Body in Space, her new collection is launched tonight.
Jacob Polley was born in Carlisle, Cumbria, in 1975. He is regarded as one of the leading talents of the new generation of British poets. He won an Eric Gregory Award, and the BBC Radio 4/Arts Council First Verse Award, in 2002. His first book, The Brink (Picador 2003), was a Poetry Book Society Choice, and went on to be shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize, the Forward Prize and the John Llewellyn Rhys prize. His second book, Little Gods (Picador 2006), was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation. The Havocs (2012), his third book of poetry, was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize in 2012. Jacob is now a lecturer in Creative Writing at St. Andrews University.

Gamble_MiriamHadfield Nigh 64

Miriam Gamble & The Clydebuilt Mentees read on Thursday 8th May, 7pm, Clubroom, CCA, Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow. Free.

Miriam Gamble is a poet and critic from Belfast. She studied at Oxford and at Queen’s University, Belfast, where she taught literature and creative writing while completing a PhD in contemporary British and Irish poetry. She is the deputy director of the MSc in Creative Writing by Online Learning, and the main poetry lecturer on the course.
Miriam’s first book, The Squirrels Are Dead, was published by Bloodaxe in 2010 and won a Somerset Maugham Award in 2011. Her second, Pirate Music, is forthcoming with Bloodaxe in 2014. She has also won the Eric Gregory Award, the Ireland Chair of Poetry Bursary Award, and the Vincent Buckley Poetry Prize.
She will be reading along side her Clydebuilt Mentees: Susan Mansfield, Jane Hartshorn, Julie Martis, Tracy Patrick.